Sydney and Hawkesbury to compete at National Premier T20 Championships
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:38PM
2019/20 Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Champions, Sydney Cricket Club.

Cricket NSW Media

Cricket NSW will be represented by the Sydney and Hawkesbury clubs at Australian Premier Cricket’s annual showcase event, the Fox Cricket National Premier T20 Championships, next week in Adelaide.

By qualifying for the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final won by Sydney in January, both teams also booked a ticket to South Australia for the championships.

The two clubs are among 10 teams to qualify with every state and territory represented on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Established in 2019, the championships are an extension of local Premier T20 competitions held in each state and territory, with winners earning the opportunity to compete at the national event.

The finalists in Victoria and NSW also qualify. The 16-match tournament will see each team play two qualifying games on Tuesday, another qualifier on Wednesday followed by the Final that afternoon.

Sydney defeated Randwick Petersham in the Sixers Conference Final, just before Christmas, to progress through to the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final on 12 January.

Hawkesbury defeated Bankstown in the Thunder Conference Final.

Fixtures for the tournament will be finalised on Monday night with a live draw.

Hawkesbury will be captained by former Australian One-Day International batsman Peter Forrest, while former NSW Blues wicketkeeper-batsman Daniel Smith captains Sydney.

Smith led Sydney to victory in the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final, at Drummoyne Oval in January, with a powerful 89 from 47 deliveries.

To follow all the action from the Fox Cricket National Premier Twenty20 Championships, follow the MyCricket Facebook page or visit All matches will be live streamed here.


Victoria – Carlton Cricket Club and Monash Tigers

Tasmania – Lindisfarne Cricket Club

ACT – Western District

NSW – Hawkesbury Cricket Club and Sydney Cricket Club

Queensland – Valley District Cricket Club

Northern Territory – Desert Blaze

Western Australia – Fremantle Cricket Club

South Australia – Adelaide University

Last updated: Friday March 27, 2020 4:43PM