AW Green Shield Round 1 Report
Date of Event : Wed Dec 20, 2017 5:14PM

Andrew Deitz

The 2017/18 AW Green Shield under 16’s competition exploded into action last Thursday, producing nail-biting finishes along with individuals quickly making their mark in the competition.

University of New South Wales captain and wicket-keeper Jack Attenborough made his intentions clear in his side round one clash against Mosman at David Philips North. After winning the toss and electing to bat first, Mosman batsmen Thomas Elliot (35), Broc Hardy (27), and Shehan Sinnetamby (26) were unable to convert their starts into big scores. Wicket-keeper Jesse Budden (34 not out) and Flynn Farquharson (39 not out) both scored at close to a run-a-ball late in the innings to lift their total to 5-204.

Attenborough led the chase from the top of the order. Despite losing two quick wickets with the score on 2-54, Attenborough kept his cool scoring an unbeaten 116 from 137 deliveries. His three-hour stay at the crease was supported well by Jake Greenberg who also finished unbeaten on 50. The pairs 151-run match-winning partnership sealed the eight-wicket win for UNSW with two overs to spare.

Staring with the ball in round one was Bankstown’s Jakob Eljed. Eljed made the most of the early 8:30 am start due to dangerous temperatures, grabbing his first wicket on the fourth ball of the match. Eljed continued to run through the St George batting line up at Jenson Park on his way to collecting five wickets for 24 runs off 9.2 overs and in turn, dismissed the opposition team for just 97.

Bankstown’s run chase got off to a shaky start. Opener Nivethan Radhakrishnan (4) was removed in the first over, but that was the only hiccup for the home side as Zeeshaan Ahmed (46 not out), and captain Cameron Cotter (35 not out) safely negotiated the small total in the 16th over to start their campaign with a bonus point victory.

While these impressive individual performances led to decisive victories, other sides were left to endure the tension of their fixture going down to the last breath. In the match between Campbelltown-Camden and Sydney University at Raby 1, the home side batted first and posted a reasonable total of 223, with Sydney University bowlers Jazz Rinka (4-38) and Luca Dimeglio (3-39) ending the innings in the 48th over. Captain Tanveer Sangha was the top scorer for Campbelltown-Camden with 72. Connor Corscadden (40), and William Salzmann (36) also made strong contributions.

Sydney University’s run chase appeared to be on track as Ben Mitchell (68) looked to get the students into striking distance in the closing stages. Their hopes seemed all but gone when Mitchell was run out with the score on 5-173. However, Sydney University had one more trick up their sleeve. Batting at number eight, Jonathon Aylward blasted four boundaries and a six in his unbeaten 32 from 20 deliveries to steal the victory with one ball to spare.

Nerves were also felt at Waverly Oval where Eastern Suburbs hosted Manly-Warringah. Manly-Warringah’s innings got off to an unsteady start slipping to be 2-8 in the early stages. Jake Osborne tried to muscle the momentum in his side’s favour, scoring 88 from 105 deliveries with 11 fours and one six while his captain Aidan Bennett consolidated to ensure his team utilised the full 50 overs finishing the innings unbeaten on 68 in his teams total of 209.

The Eastern Suburbs run chase appeared to be getting away from Manly when Yianni Theodorakopoulos (48) and Adham Mikhael (40) approached a 50-run partnership for the fifth wicket. That was until Joel Davies (4-26) removed both batsmen in relatively quick succession along with Alex Van Vugt (1) to have the game on a knife’s edge at 7-150 with 14 overs remaining. Jack Allen was the only remaining batsman resisting the Manly attack, and with wickets falling around him got his side to 207 but that was the most he could do before being trapped in front on 41 to hand Manly-Warringah a two-run win.

Other Round 1 results:

Blacktown 9-229 (M Bhullar 49 T Jayaweera 47 T Walia 37 J Heuston 24no T Dale 2-27 K Khetarpaul 2-51) bt Western Suburbs 108 (R Moyle 37 F Gray 26 A Kapila 4-19 D Nash 3-23 J Heuston 2-26);

Northern District 6-192 (T Gray 37 J Hiley 34no L Fisher 29 M Crayn 23 E Heath 2-28) bt Penrith 8-188 (J Watson 45 B Tracey 35 Z Hunter 35 M Sullivan 24 J Hiley 3-35 S White 2-20 N Ahluwalia 2-27);

Randwick Petersham 7-206 (M Jenkins 85no B Larance 42 B Kenzie 29 A Shirazi 2-25 J Liddle 2-30) bt North Sydney 9-205 (A Thomas 46 P Gall 36 A Shirazi 33 A Jones 23 A Cavenor 21 A Deller 2-22 B Kenzie 2-28);

Gordon 265 (M Miller 81 J Naganayagam 62 T Singh 35no M Lole 23 T Singh 4-44 S Nambisan 3-25 J Shortland 2-35) bt Fairfield-Liverpool 9-207 (B Abbasi 53no H Nemme 22 Z Chattree 21 I Sunjic 21 A Joshi 3-43 N Sequeira 2-26 J Hayes 2-29 J Davis-Rice 2-36);

Sydney 217 (K Daley 52 O Little 38 J Yeoh 22 H Sherriff 21 W Straker 3-31 K Weatherall 3-49 L Johnson 2-26) bt Sutherland 194 (C Barton 41 J Green 33 D Holdstock 21 S Buchanan 2-28 K Anderson 2-29 K Daley 2-45 H Sherriff 2-46);

Parramatta 6-164 (H King 66no A Mohanaraj 29 R Johns 23 A Bansal 2-10 V Viswanathan 2-30) bt Hawkesbury 163 (H Shields 31 J Nisbet 29 C Rice-Lowe 29 K Krishnan 21 B Overton 3-20).

Last updated: Wednesday December 20, 2017 5:16PM