Premier Cricket Awards 2021 - O’Reilly Medal tied
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Mon May 31, 2021 11:51AM
Tom Jagot & Nic Stapleton - Joint winners of the O'Reilly Medal

Cricket NSW Media

St George allrounder Nic Stapleton and UTS North Sydney top order batsman Thomas Jagot were joint winners of the prestigious O’Reilly Medal for Men’s First Grade Player of the Year when all the award were announced at the NSW Premier Cricket Premiers’ Dinner at Dockside Function Centre, Sydney.

Each player won their first Bill O’Reilly Medal named in honour of the late, great NSW and Australian leg-spinner, and prominent journalist.

The O’Reilly Medal is decided by umpire votes from each preliminary-round match during the season on a 3-2-1 basis.

It was the second successive year that the O’Reilly Medal had been shared after a four-way tie last year.

It was Jagot’s bat that earned him the honour. The right-hander made 1,000 runs at 66.7 across all formats this season, trailing Sydney opener Anthony Mosca by just 27 at the top of the list, for runs scored during the preliminary rounds of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup, Limited-Overs and Belvidere Cups.

Stapleton was the leading allrounder in the competition. Across all formats – T20, one-day and two-day – he scored 777 runs at an average of 35.3 and claimed 33 wickets at 24.

Both Stapleton and Jagot were named honorary captains of the respective Teams of the Year, also recognised on Friday night.

Northern District head coach Brendan Lyon, brother of Australian Test spinner Nathan, received the Bob Simpson Award as Men’s Coach of the Year, helping Northern District to their sixth Club Championship this season. Adding to the club's success, Northern District also claimed premierships in Third Grade, Fifth Grade and AW Green Shield competitions.

Northern District received the Men's and Women's Premier Cricket Spirit of Cricket awards demonstrating that success can be earned by playing fair.

Pratten Park was named Ground of the Year for the first time after running second to Drummoyne Oval last season.

Premier Cricket Awards 2020/21

O’Reilly Medal for Men’s First Grade Player of the Year - Joint Winners: 

Nic Stapleton (St George) – 14 votes

Tom Jagot (UTS North Sydney) – 14 votes.

2020/21 Men’s Premier Cricket Awards:

Premierships -

Club Championship: Northern District

First Grade (Belvidere Cup): Sydney

Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup: Bankstown

First Grade Limited-Overs: Randwick-Petersham

Second Grade (Albert Cup): Manly-Warringah

Third Grade (Mitchell Cup): Northern District

Fourth Grade (Reid Cup): Sutherland

Fifth Grade (David Sherwood Cup): Northern District

Poidevin-Gray Shield: Gordon & Parramatta (Joint Premiers)

AW Green Shield: Northern District

Men’s Individual Awards:

Bob Simpson Award – Men’s Coach of the Year: Brendan Lyon (Northern District)

Ground of the Year 1st Place: Pratten Park (Western Suburbs)

Ground of the Year Runner-Up: Rosedale Oval (Fairfield-Liverpool)

Ground of the Year 3rd Place: Drummoyne Oval (Sydney)

Lower Grades Ground of the Year: Tunks Park (UTS North Sydney)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Northern District

1st Grade Captain of the Year: Ben Davis (Northern District)

2nd Grade Captain of the Year: Andrew Jamieson (Manly-Warringah)

3rd Grade Captain of the Year: Clayton Waters (Northern District)

4th Grade Captain of the Year: Stephen Wark (St George)

5th Grade Captain of the Year: Pat Murton (Northern District)


(statistics include runs scored, wickets taken and wicketkeeping dismissals in all T20, one-day and two-day preliminary matches excluding Finals)


AJ Mosca (Sydney); 1,027 runs;

Tom Jagot (UTS North Sydney); 1,000 runs (Co-Captain);

Tym Crawford (Gordon); 808 runs;

Jay Lenton (Manly-Warringah); 764 runs;

Josh Clarke (Western Suburbs); 763 runs;


Nic Stapleton (St George); 688 runs & 33 wickets (Co-Captain);


Tim Cummins (Sydney University); 38 dismissals and 535 runs;


Nic Bills (Sydney); 46 wickets;

Luke Shelton (Mosman); 41 wickets;

Ben Joy (Sydney University); 38 wickets;

Jackson Saggers (Gordon); 38 wickets;

Ben Taylor (Bankstown); 38 wickets.

Last updated: Monday May 31, 2021 11:57AM