Sydney win Fox Cricket National Premier T20 title
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:52PM
National Premier T20 Champions 2019/20, Sydney Cricket Club

David Gavin

Sydney has won a thrilling Final of the second Fox Cricket National Premier T20 Championships against Adelaide University on Wednesday afternoon.

No. 9 batsman Harry Manenti (15 not out) hit consecutive sixes in the final over to win the title for his club, with two balls to spare at Karen Rolton Oval, in Adelaide.

The reigning Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup champions chased down 163 to win after Adelaide University earlier posted 5/162. South Australian Redbacks batsman Will Bosisto scored 105 of those with no other batter passing 12.

Sydney finished 8/166 from 19.4 overs becoming the first NSW team to win the competition after Carlton won the title last season. 

Despite losing 5/15 in 17 deliveries nearing the end of the chase, Manenti saved the Tigers with two shots that cleared the fence at deep mid-wicket.

Harry Manenti is the younger brother of Sixers off-spinner Ben, who himself claimed a tidy 2-20 from his four overs for Sydney.

Both finalists won all three of their preliminary matches, on Tuesday and Wednesday, to qualify for the decider.

Sixteen matches were played across the two days in Adelaide including the Final.

Sydney looked set for a comfortable victory with Anthony Mosca and Englishman Nick Gubbins at the crease.

The pair added 77 for the third wicket with Mosca making 49 from 37 balls, and Gubbins, 34 from 26 deliveries. They moved the score to 2/127 after 15 overs.

However, a flurry of wickets including two run outs seemingly gave Adelaide University the advantage, but for Harry Manenti’s heroics at the end.

Sydney and Hawkesbury were the two Cricket NSW teams to qualify for the tournament.

By qualifying for the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final in January, each club earned a ticket to Adelaide for the two-day event.

Hawkesbury finished with one victory from their three matches.

Gubbins was the third leading run-scorer for the tournament. He made 140 runs at an average of 46.67 including two half-centuries.

Allrounder Ryan Felsch was equal first on the wicket takers list. His pace returning seven scalps from four matches at the impressive average of 10.57.

Scorecard here.


Last updated: Friday March 27, 2020 4:56PM