Sydney University claim First Grade Limited-Overs title
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:44PM
Sydney University, 2019/20 First Grade Limited-Overs Cup champions.

David Gavin

Sydney University defeated Randwick Petersham by 81 runs on Sunday to secure the First Grade Limited-Overs Cup for the second time in three years.

The students posted 194 in the Grand Final at University Oval, which seemed modest at the innings break, but convincingly defended that total in 34.3 overs dismissing Randwick Petersham for 113.

Sydney University earned hosting rights courtesy of finishing top of the table and narrowly escaping its semi-final against Penrith with a tie. Randwick Petersham finished third.

Captain Liam Robertson was key to victory and his rescue efforts with the bat earned him the Michael Bevan Medal as Player of the Final.

Robertson made 66 from 100 balls and his 119-run stand with good friend David Miller (51), for the sixth wicket, recovered the Sydney University innings from 5/49.

Randwick Petersham captain and seamer Daya Singh returned the outstanding figures of 6-31 from 10 overs, the best figures by any bowler in a First Grade Limited-Overs Cup Grand Final, and was on a hat-trick at one point.

The outstanding performances did not stop there, however.

University wicketkeeper Tim Cummins, brother of Australian and NSW Blues paceman Pat, also claimed five catches, including a one-handed blinder to remove Anthony Sams (10).

Left-arm seamer Dugald Holloway returned best figures for the students with 4-19 from 8.3 overs.

The Final on Sunday was interrupted by rain almost 12 overs into the Sydney University batting innings with the score at 3/43, after Robertson won the toss and elected to bat, but only a short delay ensued.

Sydney University ended a run of four straight losses in NSW Premier Cricket Finals on Sunday. Its last title came in the Limited-Overs Cup decider of 2017/18 when it defeated Parramatta. 

University made the ideal start to the defence of 194 when pace bowler Charlie Cassell (3-36) removed last week’s semi-final centurion Shaun Eaton for a third ball duck in the first over.

Eaton made 113 from 101 balls in the semi-final win over Sydney last Sunday.

That wicket was followed by five more wickets in the first 18 overs to leave Randwick Petersham reeling at 6/70.

Leg-spinner Devlin Malone was also effective for Sydney University returning 2-17 from seven overs.

First Grade Limited-Over Cup Grand Final.

Sydney University 194 (L Robertson 66 D Miller 51 H Kerr 20 D Singh 6-31 R Ayre 2-34) bt Randwick Petersham 113 (R Ayre 21 M Everett 20 D Holloway 4-19 C Cassell 3-36 D Malone 2-17) at University Oval.

Michael Bevan Medal for Player of the Final: Liam Robertson (Sydney University).

Last updated: Thursday March 26, 2020 4:48PM