Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final on Sunday
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:04PM
Sydney fast bowler Nic Bills.

Jackson Pringle

Sydney is chasing its second Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup in three years against a Hawkesbury side striving for its initial piece of silverware in Sydney’s First Grade competition.

The teams meet at Drummoyne Oval on Sunday in the final of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup as winners of the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder Conferences.

By making the final both teams have also qualified for the National Premier T20 Championships in Adelaide during March next year.

Each side played in a total of eight games en route to the decider, including the two sudden-death semi-finals.

Sydney was second-place on the Sixers Conference table and upset the top of the table Randwick-Petersham in the Conference Final three weeks ago at Coogee Oval.

It was a similar story for Hawkesbury, which finished third on the Thunder Conference table and upset the first-placed Bankstown at Bankstown Oval in the Conference Final just before Christmas.

Hawkesbury also upset the second-placed Penrith the previous week at Howell Oval in the Conference Semi-Finals, while Sydney were expected to topple third-placed Manly-Warringah at Drummoyne Oval.

Both teams won four of the six matches they played in the regular season.

They are two evenly matched teams up against each other in this much anticipated T20 decider, with plenty of hard hitting batsmen and aggressive bowlers taking part.  

Former Australian One Day International batsman Peter Forrest will once again captain Hawkesbury in this Final. He is fifth on the T20 run-scoring table with 296 runs from eight innings at a solid average just above 49, a strike rate over 150, and a top score of 106, which at the time was the fastest First Grade T20 century of all time.

Forrest scored 52 not out from 50 balls in the Thunder Conference Final over Bankstown. 

Teammate and keeper-batsman Ryan Mizzi has also been named for the decider and is third on the run-scorers list, hitting 322 runs from eight innings at a superb 53.67 average, a strike rate of 164.3, and a highest score of 83 not out.

Bowlers Mohammad Shinwari and Austin Philip have been named for Hawkesbury and both have nine wickets this season, coming from seven matches and five matches respectively. They both have superb averages of just over 16 and are equal 11th in the competition wickets column.

Philip has also represented Australia at the Deaf World Cup in 2018.

Fast bowlers Alex Glendenning and Nic Bills have been named for Sydney. They have both taken 12 wickets this season from eight T20 matches, with impressive averages of 16.25 and 16.83 respectively, and are equal second on the wickets table.

Glendenning has best figures of 3/17 while Bills top effort was 3/13.

Teammate and allrounder Ryan Felsch has also been named for the decider and is just below the pair with 11 wickets from eight matches at a 21 average and a best of 3/28. Felsch is also 11th on the run-scoring table with 249 runs from eight innings at an average a tick over 31 and a best of 119, with a most impressive strike rate of just below 172.  

Keeper-batsman Beau McClintock will feature in the final and is just below Felsch on the run-scoring list at 12th, hitting 248 runs from eight innings at an incredible average of 124 due to only being dismissed twice. His top score was 64 not out and his strike rate was strong at just below 130.


Grand Final: Sunday 12January 2020, 2:30pm

Live stream details here.

 See full teams here.

Last updated: Friday January 10, 2020 5:06PM