Bolters Sydney and Hawkesbury to contest Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:19PM
2019/20 Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Thunder Conference Champions, Hawkesbury.

Jackson Pringle

Sydney and Hawkesbury will compete for the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup at Drummoyne Oval next month after upset victories in their Conference Finals on Sunday.

Both teams have also qualified for the National Premier T20 Championships in Adelaide during March next year.

Second-placed Sydney upset top of the table Randwick-Petersham by six wickets during the Sixers Conference Final at Coogee Oval while underdogs and third-placed Hawkesbury toppled the undefeated and top of the table Bankstown by two wickets in a thrilling Thunder Conference decider at Bankstown Oval.

Randy Petes came into the match undefeated in the T20 Cup this season and reached 4/157 from the 20 overs.

NSW Blues rising star, Sydney Thunder batsman and Randwick Petersham captain Jason Sangha hit 82 not out from 61 balls, including six fours and three sixes, following on from his 69 from 48 in the Conference semi-final last Sunday against St George. Sangha is now the 10th-highest run-scorer in the T20 Cup this season with 256 runs from seven innings at an average just over 51. 

Sydney opening batsman Liam Gibson led the way during the run chase, smashing 86 from 56 balls, with seven boundaries and clearing the rope three times. Gibson shared a fourth-wicket partnership of 99 with Beau McClintock, who hit an unbeaten 50 from 32 balls, including three fours and two sixes.

Sydney won the match with 14 balls to spare to reach the Final, finishing 4/161, and will have the home ground advantage in the decider.

Hawkesbury opening bowler Abdul Hameed Kherkhah took 3/25 from four overs to help limit Bankstown to 8/142 from 20 overs. Bankstown batsman Daniel Nicotra smashed 66 from 39 balls, hitting four boundaries and three sixes.

Former Australian One Day International batsman and Hawkesbury captain Peter Forrest led the way during the run chase with an unbeaten 52 from 50 balls, hitting three fours and a six. Dale McKay joined Forrest in the middle for a third-wicket stand of 57, with McKay scoring 36 from 34 balls.

Skipper Forrest kept his cool during a mini collapse towards the end to bat with the lower order and take the win on the penultimate ball of the match. Hawkesbury lost 4/16 during the concluding stages and finished 8/143 with one ball to spare.

Forrest has had a successful season in the T20 Cup, scoring 296 runs from eight innings at a solid average of 49.33, including a best of 106, which at the time was the fastest ever NSW Premier Cricket T20 First Grade century. He is now the fifth-leading run-scorer in the T20 Cup.

NSW Premier Cricket - Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup


Sydney Sixers Conference:

Sydney 4-161 (L Gibson 86 B McClintock 50no R Ninan 2-35) bt Randwick Petersham 4 -157 (J Sangha 82no A Sams 24) at Coogee Oval.

Sydney Thunder Conference:

Hawkesbury 8-143 (P Forrest 52no D Mckay 36 R Mizzi 22 L Marshall 2-28) bt Bankstown 8 -142 (D Nicotra 66 A Bird 23 B Taylor 21 A Kherkhah 3-25) at Bankstown Oval.

Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Final (12 Jan):

Sydney v Hawkesbury at Drummoyne Oval.



Last updated: Monday December 23, 2019 7:24PM