Mosman’s monster run chase
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:06PM
NSW Metro Under 19 captain Lachlan Hearne

Jackson Pringle

Mosman pulled off a mammoth run-chase of over 400 to defeat Parramatta during the second day of McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket round eight on Saturday.

Parramatta set Mosman 409 the previous Saturday and the latter passed that target in just under 105 overs for the loss of seven wickets to pull off an amazing three-wicket victory.

The competition now enters the Christmas and New Year's break and will reconvene on 11 January.

Opening batsman Nathan Hinton top scored for Mosman with 87 from 180 balls, hitting 12 boundaries. Victorious Under 19 NSW Metro captain this season, Lachlan Hearne, joined Hinton at the crease after fellow opener Joshua Dell retired hurt early in the innings, and made 64 from 146 balls.

It was the Mosman lower order than finished the job after they were in huge trouble at 5/189. Number nine Elijah Eales, son of former Australian Rugby Union captain John Eales, was the star of the day, hitting an unbeaten 82 from 80 balls including 10 fours and a six.

Eales and keeper-batsman Ashley Doolan combined for a seventh-wicket partnership of 105, with Doolan scoring 68 from 77 balls, hitting seven boundaries and a six. Eales and fellow tailender Dean Crawford (27* off 18 balls) finished the match off with an unbeaten 50-run eighth-wicket stand.

Nineteen-year-old Lachlan Barnsley scored his maiden First-Grade century for Gordon in his 20th career match during the loss to St George. Barnsley hit an unbeaten 106 from 184 balls including 10 fours and a six, however it wasn’t enough to get his side over the line as they fell short of St George’s 309 by 34 runs. 

St George spin-bowler Joseph Graham did most of the damage, taking 4/80 from just over 25 overs. 

UTS North Sydney wicket-keeper George Lavelle took seven catches during his side’s 40-run victory over Fairfield-Liverpool. It’s only the 10th occasion that a keeper has achieved this feat since the inception of the First Grade competition in 1893-94.

Only once has a keeper caught more than seven in an innings, with Les Andrews claiming nine back in 1982-83 for Bankstown-Canterbury against Sydney University.

Norths fast-bowler James Campbell took 3/47 from 21 overs to help knock Fairfield-Liverpool over for 275.

NSW Blues contracted off-spinning allrounder Param Uppal scored 59 from 111 balls during the failed run chase for Fairfield-Liverpool, while Luke Ohrynowsky top-scored with 75.

Allrounder Adrian Isherwood took his second First-Grade five-wicket haul for Western Suburbs with 5/76 from 32 overs to help bowl Sutherland out for 290 and achieve a 61-run win. Fast bowler Ivan Thomas provided support with 3/55 from under 20 overs.

James Arnold’s 80 for Sutherland was not enough to seriously threaten the target of 351 set by Western Suburbs last Saturday.

Penrith declared at the start of the day with a first innings lead of 28 over Blacktown Mounties before bowling them out for a second time in the match for 208. Penrith was unable to achieve the outright victory with play ending on 5/71.

Michael Collins took 4/41 from 16 overs for Penrith, while Jordan Browne had figures of 3/41 from under 14 overs.

Randwick Petersham defeated Eastern Suburbs by five runs in a nail-biter at Coogee Oval. The home side set Eastern Suburbs 310 on the back of Daniel Bell-Drummond’s century last Saturday before knocking the Dolphins over for 305.

Eastern Suburbs were cruising to victory on 5/294 before a stunning collapse of 5/11 saw them fall short.

Daya Singh was the key man for Randy Petes, taking 4/66 from 18.3 overs. Spinner Riley Ayre took 3/60 from 18 overs.

Bankstown bowled UNSW out for 72 in just over 35 overs after reaching 9/352 (dec) last Saturday. Fast bowler Liam Marshall and Jared Lysaught claimed three scalps each during the demolition of UNSW’s batting.

Bankstown enforced the follow-on but couldn’t achieve the outright victory as the game ended with UNSW on 3/125. Keeper-batsman Michael Burgess smashing 56 from 41 balls, hitting six boundaries and clearing the rope three times.

Sydney defeated Campbelltown-Camden by four wickets. Sydney easily reached the 204 set by the Ghosts last Saturday thanks to opener Justin Mosca’s 67 from 102 balls.

Mosca and skipper Matthew Rodgers (39) shared a second-wicket partnership of 105.

Sydney University knocked Northern District over for 174 to achieve victory by 226 runs. Fast bowler Dugald Holloway was the star performer with 4/40 from 12 overs.

The match between Hawkesbury and Manly-Warringah ended in a draw after poor air quality stopped play at Owen Earle Oval with the latter on 4/149 in search of the 6/363 (dec) made by the former on day one.

NSW Premier Cricket - Round 8:

First Grade:

Sydney 6-205 (J Mosca 67 N Gubbins 48no M Rodgers 39 L Gibson 23 L Webb 3-50 S Pathak 2-37) bt Campbelltown-Camden 204 (J Isakka 78 N Glynn 32 H Swindells 31 L Webb 21 N Bills 5-58 R Felsch 2-45 A Glendenning 2-57) at Raby Oval 1,

UTS North Sydney 325 (T Jagot 156 T Reynolds 41 O Knight 38 M Critchley 5-71 R Allington 2-35 C Sammut 2-58) bt Fairfield-Liverpool 285 (L Ohrynowsky 75 P Uppal 59 M Critchley 42 A Patil 37 R Srivastava 29 J Campbell 2-42 W Graham 2-47) at Rosedale Oval,

Hawkesbury 6(dec)-363 (S Baldwin 99 N Radhakrishnan 95 P Forrest 77 D Mckay 38) drew Manly-Warringah 4-149 (C Merchant 60no R Farrell 38no),

Sydney University 9(dec)-400 (T Cummins 156 L Robertson 130 D Miller 30 N Walker 22 J Kershaw 21no J Heinrich 4-88 D Ball 4-93) bt Northern District 174 (J Whealing 62 D Ball 29 B Davis 25 D Holloway 4-40 J Kershaw 2-38 C Cassell 2-48),

Mosman 7-413 (N Hinton 87 E Eales 82no L Hearne 64 A Doolan 68 D Crawfoed 27no L Shelton 43 B Aitchison 3-113) bt Parramatta 2(dec)-409 (N Bertus 166no T Ward 150 L Dempsey 62no) at Old Kings Oval,

Penrith 2(dec)-111 (T Liddiard 55no R Gibson 45) and 5-71 (R Gibson 23 H Verma 2-10 H Sandhu 2-25) bt Blacktown Mounties 83 (E Singh 29 R Smith 5-30 R Fletcher 3-36) and 208 (J Sammut 83 E Singh 30 J Gauci 20 M Collins 4-41 J Browne 3-41) at Howell Oval,

Randwick Petersham 310 (D Bell-Drummond 103 M Everett 47 R Ayre 42 D Hunter 27 A Semple 27no W Affleck 26 N Rowe 5-91 J Remond 3-49) bt Eastern Suburbs 305 (J Smith 86 P Lazarus 70 S Robson 42 P Nevill 32 A Robson 31 J Preddey 21 D Singh 4-66 R Ayre 3-60 R Ninan 2-51) at Coogee Oval,

St George 309 (M Hopkins 106 N Stapleton 69 P Francis 33no J Graham 21 B Macdonald 21 S O'Brien 4-94 C Stobo 3-60) bt Gordon 275 (L Barnsley 106no S Colley 38 G Winsor 31 M Newman 28 T Crawford 26 J Graham 4-80 P Francis 2-63) at Hurstville Oval,

Western Suburbs 6(dec)-351 (J Clarke 176 N Cutler 111 J Psarakis 21 T Pinson 2-84) bt Sutherland 290 (J Arnold 80 J Leaning 70 T Doyle 68 L Hawksworth 27 A Isherwood 5-76 I Thomas 3-55) at Glenn McGrath Oval,

Bankstown 9(dec)-352 (N Carruthers 88 J Lysaught 48 T Garg 42no B Le Bas 35 B Taylor 35 M Stoneman 30 M Bursa 20no V Kashyap 5-108 S Thanabalasingam 3-86) bt UNSW 72 (H Kakkireni 27 L Marshall 3-15 J Lysaught 3-17 M Brown 2-23) and 3-125 (M Burgess 56no H Kakkireni 39) at David Phillips South.

Last updated: Monday December 23, 2019 7:08PM