Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Conference finalists decided
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Fri Dec 13, 2019 3:39PM
Sydney pace man Nic Bills. Photo Ian bird

Jackson Pringle

Randwick Petersham will host Sydney in the Sixers Conference Final, while Bankstown take on Hawkesbury in the Thunder Conference decider after all four teams were successful in their Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Conference semi-finals last Sunday. 

The two Conference finals will take place in a fortnight.

NSW Blues rising star and former Australian under-19s captain Jason Sangha starred for the top of the Sixers Table Randwick Petersham, as they continued their superb form this season to defeat the fourth-placed St George by five wickets at Coogee Oval.

Skipper Sangha, 20, hit 69 runs from 48 balls, including eight fours and a six, for Randy Petes as they chased down St George’s total of 7/150 with seven balls to spare.

St George opener Luke Bartier smashed 61 from 36 balls, hitting seven fours and a six, to help set up his team’s competitive total.

The other Sixers Conference semi-final featured second-placed Sydney up against third-placed Manly-Warringah at Drummoyne Oval. The favourites also prevailed in this fixture as Sydney took victory by four wickets.

Sydney fast-bowler Nic Bills was the pick of the bowlers for Sydney, taking 3-13 from four overs, helping restrict Manly to 3/134.

Thunder allrounder Chris Green was the star performer for Manly, hitting 70 from 54 balls, clearing the rope six times.

Sydney ran down the total with more than two overs remaining, on the back of captain and off-spinner Ben Manenti’s quick-fire 45 from 20 balls opening the innings, smashing five fours and three sixes. Blues contracted fast bowler Ryan Hadley claimed 2-28 from three overs for Manly.

Sydney finished 6/135 after 17.3 overs.

The Thunder Conference semi-finals featured an upset with second-placed Penrith going down to third-placed Hawkesbury by seven wickets.

Penrith was sent in to bat by Hawkesbury and produced a highly competitive total of 170 from 19.1 overs. Blues contracted batsman Ryan Hackney was the standout for Penrith, scoring 63 from 47 balls, hitting five boundaries and clearing the rope once.

Paceman Mohammad Shinwari was Hawkesbury’s key performer with the ball, taking 3/19 from 3.1 overs.

Hawkesbury produced an amazing counter-attack during the run chase, reaching Penrith’s total with two overs to spare. Dale McKay was the star, smashing an unbeaten 63 from only 32 balls, with six boundaries and four sixes.

McKay combined with Scott Baldwin (29 not out from 24 balls) for an unbeaten fourth-wicket partnership of 84 to finish off the job in complete dominance. Keeper-batsman Ryan Mizzi kicked off the successful run chase hitting 51 from 34 balls, smashing three boundaries and five sixes.

Top of the table Bankstown made no mistake in continuing its dominance during the T20 Cup, defeating fourth-placed Northern District by eight wickets.

Bankstown restricted Northern District to 7/134 before reaching this score with ease after only 12.2 overs. Opening batsman Nick Carruthers recorded the highest individual score of the day across the four semi-finals during the simple run chase, smashing 92 from 42 balls, featuring nine fours and clearing the boundary six times.

Carruthers put on a second-wicket partnership of 95 with teammate Mitch Brown (26 from 21 balls).

NSW Premier Cricket

Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup


Sydney Sixers Conference:

Randwick Petersham 5-154 (J Sangha 69 S Eaton 34 D Bell-Drummond 22 A Walsh 2-23 P Francis 2-40) bt St George 7-150 (L Bartier 61 J Rose 26no R Ayre 2-24 R Ninan 2-24) at Coogee Oval,

Sydney 6-135 (B Manenti 45 N Gubbins 36 R Felsch 28 S Gainsford 2-22 R Hadley 2-28) bt Manly-Warringah 3-134 (C Green 70no A Beadle 26 N Bills 3-13) at Drummoyne Oval.

Sydney Thunder Conference:

Bankstown 2-136 (N Carruthers 92 M Brown 26no) bt Northern District 7-134 (S Rodgie 46 W Buttleman 45 D Ball 24 N McAndrew 2-19 B Le Bas 2-21 J Lysaught 2-23) at Bankstown Oval,

Hawkesbury 3-176 (D Mckay 63no R Mizzi 51 S Baldwin 29no P Forrest 25) bt Penrith 170 (R Hackney 63 T Liddiard 30 M Collins 28no M Shinwari 3-19 A Kherkhah 2-32) at Howell Oval.

Conference Finals (22 December):

Randwick Petersham v Sydney at Coogee Oval,

Bankstown v Hawkesbury at Bankstown Oval.

Last updated: Friday December 13, 2019 3:40PM