Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup Semi-Finals on Sunday
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Fri Dec 6, 2019 4:12PM
St George captain Nic Stapleton will lead his team against undefeated Randwick Petersham at Coogee Oval

Jackson Pringle

The Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup reaches the exciting sudden-death playoff stage of the season this Sunday.

The Sixers Conference semi-finals are between first-placed Randwick-Petersham and St George at Coogee Oval, with second-placed Sydney to take on third-placed Manly-Warringah in the other semi-final at Drummoyne Oval.

In the Thunder Conference semi-finals, top of the table Bankstown will take on fourth-placed Northern District at Bankstown Oval while second-placed Penrith take on third placed Hawkesbury at Howell Oval.

Blues and Thunder batsman, and former Australian under-19s captain Jason Sangha has been named to lead Randwick-Petersham, alongside fellow Blues and Thunder teammate, allrounder Daniel Sams.

Sams took a five-wicket haul for the Blues during their Marsh Cup fixture against Victoria at the MCG three weeks ago. The allrounder has scored 212 runs in the T20 Cup this season from five innings, averaging 53 with a top score of 83 not out.

Off-spinner Ryan Ninan has been named for Randy Petes, and was the leading wicket-taker of the T20 regular season with 14 scalps from six matches, at the incredible average of 12 and a best of 4/21. 

St George will be captained by Nicholas Stapleton who has 223 runs during the competition at the average of just under 45, and a top score of 100 not out. ACT/NSW Country batsman Blake Nikitaras has also been named for Saints.

Blues and Sixers allrounder Jack Edwards is available for Manly along with contracted Blues fast-bowler Ryan Hadley.

Edwards recorded 273 runs during the regular season from six matches, averaging 45.5 with a highest score of 84, taking him to sixth on the run-scoring table. He also took eight wickets at a superb 22.25 average. 

Hadley claimed a couple of wickets for NSW Metro during the victory over ACT/NSW Country two weeks ago.

Sydney will feature Beau McClintock who scored his maiden Second XI century for ACT/NSW Country during that match against NSW Metro. Fast bowler Alex Glendenning has also been named for the home side and is equal second on the T20 Cup wickets table, taking 11 scalps from six matches at an average of a tick over 14.  

Sydney won the last T20 match between the two sides by a massive 83 runs. Manly will be seeking a much-improved performance this time around.  

NSW contracted batsman Ryan Hackney has been named for Penrith against Hawkesbury.

Hackney recently scored his second century for NSW Metro in the Second XI Competition against ACT/NSW Country, and hit a smashing 73 from 41 balls against Hawkesbury during the last T20 encounter between the two sides a fortnight ago, in which Penrith came out on top by 52 runs.

Hawkesbury will be led by former Australian One Day International batsman Peter Forrest who broke the record for the fastest NSW First-Grade T20 century against Sydney University just over a month ago, reaching the ton from just 39 balls, before Parramatta batsman Ben Abbott bettered that with a 35-ball century last week.

Bankstown went through the regular season undefeated, winning all six matches.

Northern District and Bankstown last played each other a fortnight ago in the T20 Cup where the Bulldogs recorded a nail-biting three-wicket victory and will be looking to repeat this kind of effort during the sudden-death playoff.

The semi-final between Randwick Petersham and St George will be live streamed (see link below).


Semi-Finals week one: Sunday 8 December 2019, 2:30pm

Watch live stream of the Randwick Petersham and St George semi final here

See full teams here.

Last updated: Friday December 6, 2019 4:15PM