Bowlers enjoy opening day of Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup
Date of Event NSW Premier Cricket: Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:20PM
Sydney University allrounder Hayden Kerr. Photo Ian Bird Photography

Jackson Pringle

The opening round of the Kingsgrove Sports T20 competition on Sunday, was a day for the bowlers with three teams bowled out for less than 100.

The best performance came from Northern District who knocked over Parramatta for just 51. Northern District fast bowler Ross Pawson took 4-10 returning the best figures in the nine-wicket win.

It was the lowest team total in the history of the T20 competition. Northern District off-spinner Tom Felton also claimed 3-2 from three overs.

Allrounder Scott Rodgie (32) played his 250th First Grade match in the win.

Campbelltown-Camden also bowled out Fairfield-Liverpool for 74 and Randwick Petersham dismissed Mosman for 95 at Coogee Oval.

Scores did not pass 150 in seven of the 10 matches played on Sunday.

NSW Blues batsman Ryan Gibson surpassed 5,000 First Grade runs on Sunday despite missing out for Penrith in its three-run loss to Bankstown.

Allrounder Hayden Kerr top scored overall on Sunday, smashing a tremendous 84 from 76 balls for Sydney University in their 19-run victory over Blacktown Mounties.

Wickets were shared amongst the Campbelltown-Camden attack with three bowlers taking two wickets including 17-year-old off-spinning allrounder Brock Larance with 2-4 from eight balls bowled.

Ghosts’ captain Jarrad Burke, 32 from 34 balls, moved to 21st on the list of all-time leading First Grade run-scorers with 10,446 runs. The wily left-arm finger spinner also claimed 2-15.

Campbelltown-Camden made 5/126 after winning the toss and electing to bat at Rosedale Oval.

NSW Blues and Fairfield-Liverpool allrounder Param Uppal took 3-18 from four overs to help limit Campbelltown-Camden, but the Ghosts put on a brilliant team display with the ball themselves to secure victory in 16.2 overs.

Randwick Petersham produced the other outstanding effort with the ball, as it knocked over Mosman for 95 at Coogee Oval.

Randwick Petersham seamer Adam Semple taking an excellent 3-4 from his three overs, while former Indian First Class off-spinner Ryan Ninan took 3-26 in his four overs for the victors.

Opener Ben Abbatangelo finished off with an unbeaten 50 from 39 balls during the breezy run chase and nine-wicket win. NSW Blues batsman Jason Sangha also contributed 36 not out from 27 for Randwick Petersham.

The hosts finished 1/96 from 12.2 overs. Mosman batsman Lachlan Hearne scored his 1,000th first-grade run.

Kerr hit four boundaries and cleared the rope six times in his match defining knock. University posted 9/152 which was too much for Blacktown replying with 8/133.

Batsman Damien Mortimer failed to fire in University’s innings but reached the milestone of 4,000 First Grade runs.

Manly-Warringah achieved the highest total on Sunday, reaching 6/208 in a convincing 34-run victory over Gordon.

Manly’s innings featured a fiery 79 from only 43 balls by former Blues wicketkeeper-batsman Jay Lenton, reaching the boundary four times and clearing it on six occasions.

Teenage Blues batsman Jack Edwards chipped in with a handy 35 from just 12, opening the batting.

At Howell Oval, Bankstown’s winning total of 164 included an outstanding 76 from 39 balls by Mitch Brown, featuring nine fours and three sixes. Left-arm finger spinner Ben Le Bas with 3-20 from four overs and fellow spinner Benjamin Taylor (3-36) helped Bankstown seal a nail-biting win.

Defending champions Sutherland got off to a flying start with a five-wicket victory over St George.

The Saints set their local rivals 128 and the team from the Shire reached the target with three overs to spare.

Eastern Suburbs defeated UNSW by seven wickets. Marcus Atallah led the Dolphins bowling attack with 3-13 from his four overs, limiting UNSW to the modest total of 7/120. The team from the East reached the target with 3.1 overs left.

Sydney defeated UTS North Sydney also by seven wickets.

Some brilliant fielding by Sydney resulted in Norths suffering three run outs during their innings of 8/121, with Beau McClintock affecting two of them. The Tigers wasted no time knocking off the target, recording the victory with more than five overs to spare.

Western Suburbs went down to Hawkesbury after being bowled out for 118. Marcus Farquharson led the Hawkesbury bowling attack with a solid 3-21 from four overs.

Hawkesbury won by six wickets, leaving it until the penultimate over to seal the win.

NSW Premier Cricket: Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup

Round 1.

Sydney Sixers Conference:

Eastern Suburbs 3-121 (M Morley 34no T Armstrong 31 A Robson 22 B Holt 21) bt UNSW 7-120 (W Wolter 35 T Byrnes 25 M Atallah 3-13) AT Waverley Oval

Manly-Warringah 6-208 (J Lenton 79 C Merchant 52no J Edwards 35 N Doyle 3-35 G Winsor 2-15) bt Gordon 174 (C Eccles 53 S Colley 24 C Stobo 22 A Beadle 3-45 M Edwards 2-30) at Manly Oval

Randwick Petersham 1-96 (B Abbatangelo 50no J Sangha 36no) bt Mosman 95 (M Calder 37 A Semple 3-4 R Ninan 3-26 J Ralston 2-13) at Coogee Oval

Sutherland 5-132 (T Doyle 33no J Biviano 26 C Williams 22 T Engelbrecht 3-21 N Stapleton 2-26) bt St George 7-128 (N Stapleton 30 J Rose 22no T Pinson 2-22 N Amos 2-26) at Glenn McGrath Oval

Sydney 3-124 (D Smith 47 A Mosca 38no) bt UTS North Sydney 8 -121 (T Jagot 49 D Leerdam 20 B Mitchell 2-19 N Bills 2-23) at Drummoyne Oval.

Sydney Thunder Conference:

Sydney University 9-152 (H Kerr 84 A Naqvi 2-24 H Sandhu 2-26) bt Blacktown Mounties 8-133 (J Sammut 33 J Gauci 22 T Atlee 20no R McElduff 2-12 L Robertson 2-17 D Malone 2-28) at Joe McAleer Oval

Campbelltown-Camden 5-126 (P Uppal 3-18) bt Fairfield-Liverpool 74 (A Nair 21) at Rosedale Oval

Northern District 1-53 (S Rodgie 32 N Badings 20no) bt Parramatta 51 (R Pawson 4-10 T Felton 3-2 S Rodgie 2-5) at Mark Taylor Oval

Bankstown 9-164 (M Brown 76 D Solway 47 L Hodges 3-26) bt Penrith 8-161 (T Liddiard 42 C Weir 29 R Hackney 28 B Le Bas 3-20 B Taylor 3-36) at Howell Oval

Hawkesbury 4-119 (B Qureshi 37 D Mckay 35no R Mizzi 21) bt Western Suburbs 118 (C Hotham 44 J Psarakis 23 M Farquharson 3-21 M Shinwari 2-17 C Lawrence 2-19) at Pratten Park.


Sydney Sixers Conference:

Randwick Petersham 3 Sydney 3 Manly-Warringah 3 Sutherland 3 Eastern Suburbs 3 UNSW 0 St George 0 Gordon 0 UTS North Sydney 0 Mosman 0.

Sydney Thunder Conference:

Northern District 3 Campbelltown-Camden 3 Sydney University 3 Hawkesbury 3 Bankstown 3 Penrith 0 Western Suburbs 0 Blacktown Mounties 0 Fairfield-Liverpool 0 Parramatta 0.

Last updated: Friday October 18, 2019 2:21PM